50th Anniversary 


Home News Mission Membership Board of Directors Foundation Doctor Search

 Past Presidents
 Family Doctors of the Year
 50th Anniversary Celebration
04 Winter Ski Seminar

 03 Winter Ski Seminar

Next CME

CME Records


Board of Directors


Find a Family Doctor


Leadership Conference

AAFP Immunization Info



Academy Celebrates Fifty Years of Caring For South Dakotans.


The South Dakota Academy of Family Physicians paused to celebrate its fiftieth year of existence Friday July 27th in Sioux Falls.  American Academy of Family Physician's Board of Chair, Bruce Bagley, MD, South Dakota Governor William J. Janklow, and South Dakota Chapter founder, Arthur P. Reding, MD were among the esteemed guests attending the gala event. The Governor thanked the many friends and acquaintances present and expressed sincere gratitude to the member of our Chapter  for our contribution to the health and well being of the citizens of South Dakota. 


The celebration fell in the midst of the annual Summer CME meeting, this year held in Sioux Falls. 


Festivities included the Fiftieth Year Banquet, an all-member dinner and party at the Great Plains Zoo and Delbridge Museum. 


The following are some highlights of the

50th Anniversary Dinner and Conference.

Dr. Dan Heinemann receiving
2001 Family Doctor of the Year.




Dr. Art Reding -

Founder of the SDAFP





From Left to Right
Dr. Loren Amundson, Dr, Clark Likness,
Dr. Tom Huber, and Dr. Stephen Schroeder
(along with spouses)


More 50th Anniversary Pictures